Persecution, a good thing? 1 Thessalonians 2:14

Posted: October 15, 2010 in 1 Thessalonians

1 Thessalonians 2:14 For ye, brethren, became followers of the churches of God which in Judaea are in Christ Jesus: for ye also have suffered like things of your own countrymen, even as they have of the Jews:

I think what Paul is telling them here is; look, you guys are doing it right, your following Christ, your church is based on Christ, and for that you’re going to suffer the same way any other church does that is based on Christ. You’re going to be persecuted, even by people you thought agreed with you. Look at Matthew 10:36 And a man’s foes shall be they of his own household. Jesus tells us, because of Him, because of our belief in Him and our love of Him, even our own family will turn against us.

If you’re a believer in Jesus Christ and you’re not being persecuted by them who don’t believe, then you might want to look and see where Jesus is on your priority list! Do you love the created more than the Creator? We really need to think about this. Who can find a couple of hours a day to spend with their friends and family, but can’t find 15 minutes to spend with God? I asked someone the other day if they wanted a link to my blog. They asked me what it was about, when I told them they said and I quote “I don’t have time for that; I talk to God in the shower”. How do you think the Holy Creator of the universe, the Lord Jesus Christ, the one that created you and the water you’re bathing in feels about that? Jesus says in Matthew 10:37-38 He that loveth father or mother more than me is not worthy of me: and he that loveth son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. And he that taketh not his cross, and followeth after me, is not worthy of me.

So do we love the created more than the Creator?

 

Comments
  1. deb mcdonald says:

    That is a really good question Sam… and point. There is always time for something, it’s just up to them to make it….especially to just thank him for being in our lives and keeping my family safe. Great website and can’t wait to share it with Blake:) Love you. deb

Leave a Reply

